Audit Committee

Members Term Expires
Norma Sepulveda 11/2025
Michael Mezmar 6/2018
Mike Garza 6/2023
Dr. Alicia Noyola 6/2024
Ebethier (B.T.) Vargas Chairman 6/2025

* Each board member continues to serve until they get reappointed or a new appointee is made once their term is expired.


The Audit Committee shall consist of five members. The membership shall include the Mayor or, at the option of the Mayor, a second appointed City Commissioner, an appointed City Commissioner, an appointment by the Harlingen Waterworks, an appointment by the Harlingen Airport Board and a resident of the City of Harlingen appointed by the Mayor. At least two of the members shall have a background in financial reporting, accounting and auditing. However, the lack of any such specific membership shall not invalidate or otherwise affect the actions taken by the Audit Committee. The Committee is appointed annually at the first regular meeting in June.


The Audit Committee was created by the City Commission to advise the Commission in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities by assessing and making recommendations regarding the City's financial and performance audits.